A Prophetic Perspective

A month or so before we got married, Tyler and I both had a strong sense that something big was ahead. We didn’t know what; it felt really vague. But we both felt it. Something was stirring. As the months went on, we thought it must be related to our professional careers or a big geographic move.

Around this time, my small group (of wonderful women in their 20s and 30s) was focusing on prayer and specifically learning to listen for God’s voice through prophetic images, words, etc. One night, we took turns praying for each other.

One of the rules in our small group was that you had to share whatever you saw, even if it seemed outrageous, because you never know how God might be speaking to someone through that image or word.

When it was my turn to be prayed for, I had a very vivid picture of a hot air balloon. Weird, right? It was sailing high above in a blue sky. I had no idea what it meant.

We finished praying and everyone started to share whether they had any images or words. There were a few very interesting images and then one that shocked me.

The woman sitting to my right began to share that she had this very vivid picture of a hot air balloon.

!!!

I could not believe that someone had the exact same (seemingly random) image as me.

When you get an image for someone, you’re supposed to ask God for more understanding of how that might apply to the person. A prophetic word is supposed to encourage, affirm or bring discernment. They are not omens or fortune telling. (Still sound crazy to you? email me!)

The woman who saw the hot air balloon said she felt like it was about Tyler and I being together in the basket of the balloon, high above the ground, and that it was possibly about gaining perspective.

At the time, I really had absolutely no idea what this meant. We weren’t even married yet and while I would end up changing to a different position at my current employer, we weren’t looking for huge career shifts just yet.

But 9 months later, I get it.

It hit me at church last Sunday during worship. Through this whole ordeal, Tyler and I have both felt that we have been carried above with a supernatural grace. Even today at Tyler’s post chemo appointment, the doctors and nurses said several times how we have handled this in a remarkable way with wisdom beyond our years.

But it isn’t because of who we are. We were just up in our balloon with God.

And sometimes we would look down and get scared. But others times, we would look down and say, “WOW.”

God has blessed us with a new perspective on life.

People have praised us for how we have handled this ordeal. Please don’t. Our only praise is that we have chosen to follow our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

Everything else comes from Him.

Thank you Jesus for affirming Your vision for our lives. As we come back to earth and to normal life, we pray that Your gift of perspective is something we share loudly and widely.

For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith —and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God—  not by works, so that no one can boast.
Ephesians 2:8-9

Amen!

11 thoughts on “A Prophetic Perspective

  1. Although you don’t know me, I know the Carr’s from their time here in Bangor. A wonderful family as you know :o). Thanks for sharing what you and Tyler have went through. When we hear about what people are going through we cry for them and hurt with them and pray for them. Yes it IS ALL GOD we have to thank and praise Him for getting you through and the grace and mercy He bestows upon us. God is good all the time!! I love a good victory story. Blessings to you and yours!! Bonnie Hand

  2. We serve a great God! Jumping for joy over here as I rejoice and thank the Lord for the new perspective and faithfulness he has SHOWN you! It is one thing to read about it in the word and talk about it…but to live in the midst of these lessons God hand picked for you to walk through as a couple must be an amazing feeling. I’m grateful with you!

    • Yes we do serve a great God, Heather! Thank you for standing with us in this time – even though you are far away, we have felt your presence through all of this. You have been right there with our joy and sorrow. We are thankful for you!!

  3. Thank you sharing your lives with me. It is a great encouragement. I have a niece who’s boyfriend has been fighting cancer. Its a fairly rare kind. It started with a lump on his hip that turned out to be cancerous. He is a beautiful man. I’m talking about his soul. They both are. They remind me of you and Tyler. Strong in the Lord. Wonderful in your love for God and each other. I have been praying for your entire family. Please,pray for my “nephew”. His name is Kent. And he loves life.

    • Kristina, thanks for sharing about your nephew Kent. We will certainly add him to our prayers and keep you on our hearts as well. God is faithful even if we don’t know what He is up to. Prayers and encouragement to you and your family!

  4. Your faithfulness to stay in the hot air balloon is a true testimony of your trust in God!!! Rejoicing with you today and trusting that your new perspective will shine on many lives and change many hearts for many years to come!!

  5. Becky it is so awesome to have God share a nuggett to hold on to in the midst of our walks with him. Your new perspective is such an inspiration to me and surely many others who read your blog. If you ever get a chance to get into a hot air balloon, I am sure you will get more nuggetts of truth. I have been in a RE/MAX hot air balloon and it is a wonderful experience. I would love to not be tethered…lol!

  6. Pingback: Sunday Thoughts « Heights of Love

Leave a Reply

